Select Car Leasing Stadium, Behind East Stand

Who’s in the Hall of Fame 2019?

It was a grand night at the STAR Reading FC Hall of Fame inductions evening. Present to receive their awards were players spanning from the 1950s – Jimmy Wheeler – to the 2000s – Nicky Shorey, taking in Bobby Williams, Steve Richardson and Keith McPherson on the way. Ivar Ingimarsson sent fond greetings from Iceland.

The ninety minute show revealed fascinating slices of the club’s history spliced with rare photos and footage and was compered by Roger Titford (STAR) and Paul Allen. The Deputy Mayor of Reading, Paul Woodward, joined the presentation group and received an award on behalf of Stanley Hayward, Mayor of Reading exactly a hundred years ago. Hayward was a famous goal-scoring goalkeeper in the club’s amateur days.

STAR member Kate Wynn emphasised the continuity of our football family by receiving an award on behalf of her grandfather Alf Messer, a star of the 1920s. Supporter Paul Evans spoke on behalf of his father Maurice Evans, inducted for the 1960s, both a great player and a great manager of the club.

Going further back to the moment of the club’s foundation STAR honoured James Simonds, President of the club from 1871 to 1895 and the citation was received by his great-granddaughter Jacquie Drayton. She admitted she wasn’t a Reading fan – but she is now!

The full list of inductees follows and you can read more about them on the Hall of Fame section of the STAR website . There are a few spare copies of the commemorative brochure produced for the evening which can be picked up at STAR Base on match day.  Or please click to read here: 2019 Brochure Hall of Fame

1870s – James Simonds

1880s – Stanley Hayward

1890s – Stan Justins; Johnny Holt

1900s – Ernie Watts; Billy Henderson

1910s – Jack Smith

1920s – Bert Eggo; Alf Messer

1930s – Billy Butler

1940s – Joe Edelston

1950s – Jimmy Wallbanks; Jimmy Wheeler

1960s – Maurice Evans; Colin Meldrum

1970s – Bobby Williams

1980s – Stuart Beavon; Steve Richardson

1990s – Keith McPherson; Mick Gooding

2000s – Nicky Shorey; Dave Kitson; Ivar Ingimarsson

2010s – Alex Pearce; David Downs